fbpx 14 Hollow Road | Bishop, Jenn | Lexile & Reading Level:
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

14 Hollow Road

Authors: Bishop, Jenn
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
BISAC/Subject: JUV013000, JUV039060, JUV029020
ISBN: 9781101938775, Related ISBNs: 1101938757, 1101938765, 1101938773, 9781101938751, 9781101938768
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 288,
Audience: Children/juvenile
Synopsis: A warm summer novel about a community banding together in the wake of a tornado, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Kate Messner, and Jeanne Birdsall.
 
The night of the sixth-grade dance is supposed to be perfect for Maddie: she’ll wear her perfect new dress, hit the dance floor with her friends, and her crush, Avery, will ask her to dance. But as the first slow song starts to play, her plans crumble. Avery asks someone else to dance instead—and then the power goes out.
 
Huddled in the gym, Maddie and her friends are stunned to hear that a tornado has ripped through the other side of town, destroying both Maddie’s and Avery’s homes.
 
Kind neighbors open up their home to Maddie’s and Avery’s families, which both excites and horrifies Maddie. Sharing the same house . . . with Avery? For the entire summer? While it buys her some time to prove that Avery made the wrong choice at the dance, it also means he’ll be there to witness her morning breath and her annoying little brother.
 
At the dance, all she wanted was to be more grown-up. Now that she has no choice, is she really ready for it?


Praise for 14 Hollow Road:

A Kansas National Education Association Reading Circle Selection

"Bishop nails the tween voice: Maddie is a realistic heroine who deals with typical middle-grade problems amidst disaster, and she navigates upheavals with occasional grace and more frequent missteps."--Booklist 

"The emotional impact of this coming-of-age novel lies in its sensitive exploration of Maddie’s changing friendships in the transition from elementary school to junior high...Readers going through the messy transition into adolescence will find hope in the newly strengthened friendships with which Maddie enters seventh grade."--The Bulletin

"The hopeful tone and conversational writing style make this an accessible read."--SLJ

“This gorgeous summer tale will hit the spot with fans of The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall and Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley.” —Erin E. Moulton, author of Flutter and Keepers of the Labyrinth
Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.