Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

A Matter of Days

Authors: Kizer, Amber
Lexile: 640,
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
BISAC/Subject: YAF056000, YAF015000, YAF001020
ISBN: 9780375898259, Related ISBNs: 0375898255, 0385368186, 0385368194, 0385368208, 0385368216
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 288,
Audience: Young adult
Synopsis:

“Gripping and poignant, A Matter of Days takes readers on a heart-stopping journey of love and survival.“ — New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones
 
Their new reality begins in just a matter of days.
 
On Day 56 of the Blustar Pandemic, sixteen-year-old Nadia’s mother dies, leaving Nadia to fend for herself and her younger brother, Rabbit. Both have been immunized against the virus, but they can’t be protected from what comes next. Their father taught them to “be the cockroach”—to adapt to and survive whatever comes their way. And that’s their mission.
 
Facing a lawless world of destruction and deprivation, Nadia and Rabbit drive from Seattle to their grandfather’s compound in West Virginia. The illness, fatigue, and hunger they endure along the way will all be worth it once they reach the compound.
 
Unless no one is waiting for them . . .

 
“Fans of Rick Yanceys The 5th Wave, S. D. Crocketts After the Snow, or Cormac McCarthys adult novel The Road will find this a satisfying read.” —SLJ
 
“An exciting apocalyptic road trip.” —Publishers Weekly

Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.