A Midsummer Night's Scheme: A Bookbinding Mystery, Kincaid, Harper

A Midsummer Night's Scheme: A Bookbinding Mystery

Authors: Kincaid, Harper

Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS

ISBN: 9781643856315

Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Kate Carlisle, Harper Kincaid's second installment in the Bookbinding mysteries is sure to charm.
All the world's a stage, but it may be curtains for bookbinder Quinn Victoria Caine if she can't bring the lights down on an actor's killer .


Chad Hurt is Vienna, Virginia's Local Boy Made Good. Back in the day, Chad was mostly known for breaking female hearts, but now he's a big-time Broadway actor. Now, he's back in Vienna, onstage on the Town Green, to announce the glitzy new theater he's about to build in town. But after the announcement, as he gets in his car to leave, he's killed by a sackful of snakes someone's stashed in the back seat.

Chad's only mourner is his blue Burmese kitten, Cindy Clawford. She wanders into the quaint Prose & Scones bookshop and strikes up a friendship with the resident German shepherd, Ruff Barker Ginsburg. So RBG's dog-mom, bookbinder Quinn Victoria Caine, feels compelled to search for Chad's killer.

Blood and revenge are hammering in someone's head, but whose? Is the culprit one of the scores of women done wrong? Could it be Quinn's fireman brother, Bash, who was Chad's main competitor for town Lothario? When Bash becomes a target--black widow spiders tucked into his clothes--Quinn and RBG (with Cindy riding on his back) set aside their Hamlet-esque indecision and spring into action. But the only evidence is a scrap of paper bearing a vengeful Shakespeare quote. Can Quinn track down the one who seeks a pound of flesh, or will she face the sleep of death?

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.