Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

Can't Always Get What You Want: A Novel

Authors: Krause, Chelsey
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
BISAC/Subject: FIC027020, FIC027240, FIC027410
ISBN: 9781101883624, Related ISBNs: 1101883626, 9781101883624
Classification: Fiction
Number of pages: 312,
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis: Fans of Jill Shalvis and Molly O’Keefe will love this deeply romantic and uplifting debut novel about losing everything you thought you wanted—and getting exactly what you need.
 
Sophie Richards has been looking forward to a much-needed girls’ night out: a Rolling Stones tribute-band concert, a few drinks, a distraction from her grueling nursing shifts in acute care. But when her best friend bails, Sophie gets stuck with a blind date.
 
Although Brett Nicholson may be the hottest carpenter alive, and Sophie may technically be single, she isn’t exactly on the market. Six years ago she found The One. He was everything Sophie dreamed a man could be—and then she lost him. In an instant, her whole life changed, and she forgot all about happily ever after.
 
But as she gets to know Brett, Sophie starts to wonder about the future for the first time. With a broken heart still clouding her mind, jumping into a new relationship feels impossible. When she’s in his arms, walking away feels even harder. Now Sophie faces an impossible choice: living in the past or choosing love in the here and now.
 
Praise for Can’t Always Get What You Want
 
“[Chelsey] Krause’s debut novel will make readers laugh out loud and shed a few tears. Her storytelling ability will capture romance readers and get them excited for the author’s future titles.”Library Journal

“If you are looking for a story that will pull on all of your emotions, filled with characters you feel a strong connection to, run, do not walk to your nearest book retailer and get Can’t Always Get What You Want.”Fresh Fiction

Can’t Always Get What You Want is heart-wrenching in all the right ways. Smartly written and emotionally satisfying, this story will stick with you long after the last page.”USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne

“A sweet, moving story about love and loss, Chelsey Krause’s debut is full of heart.”—Clodagh Murphy, author of Girl in a Spin

Can’t Always Get What You Want is a delightful mix of humor, heart, and the struggle to move on from past grief. I am definitely looking forward to more books by Chelsey Krause!”—Mary Frame, author of Imperfect Chemistry

“This is a funny, heartfelt story about moving on, a touching debut from a very promising author. Romance lovers looking for both a giggle and a cry will get what they need from Can’t Always Get What You Want.”—Stephanie Pegler, editor, Chicklit Club
 
“[Can’t Always Get What You Want] immediately went into my favorites pile. . . . This book completely gave me the vibe of Cecelia Ahern’s PS, I Love You.”—Hello Chick Lit

“This book will suck you in. . . . I can’t believe [Krause] is a first-time author.”—Sassy Moms Say Read Romance (five stars)

Can’t Always Get What You Want was a very emotional and beautiful story. The author really did a great job in sharing Sophie’s journey to finding love a second time around.”—Lustful Literature
 
“[Chelsey Krause] has definitely earned a place on my list of favorite debut authors. I will be waiting and watching when her new book comes out!”—Devilishly Delicious Book Reviews

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.