Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

Cats Are Capable of Mind Control: And 1,000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know

Authors: Sanchez, Kris
Publisher: Dey Street Books
BISAC/Subject: HUM016000, LIT004260, PER004140
ISBN: 9780062441171, Related ISBNs: 0062441175, 9780062441164, 9780062441171
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 272,
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis:

From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not.

Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people.

Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino).

Did you know:

  • The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?
  • Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?
  • Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides?

Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age.

 

Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.