fbpx Court Lady And Country Wife: Royal Privilege and Civil War - Two Noble..
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

Court Lady And Country Wife: Royal Privilege and Civil War - Two Noble Sisters in Seventeenth-Century England

Authors: Betcherman, Lita-Rose
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
BISAC/Subject: HIS015000
ISBN: 9781443402101, Related ISBNs: 1443402109, 9780006394600, 9781443402101
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 400,
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis:

Lucy Percy was the courtly beauty—a charming lady whose considerable talents in the ballrooms, bedrooms and anterooms of the court of Charles I were, in the end, not enough to keep her from the Tower of London. Lucy’s sister Dorothy was the country wife—mother of 12 children, a domineering and politically savvy woman whose unaspiring husband’s eventual rebellion caused a public scandal. Together the Countess of Carlisle and the Countess of Leicester were at the centre of power during one of Britain’s most tumultuous periods. This richly detailed, intriguing story of two exceptional sisters is a must-read for fans of Charlotte Gray, Sandra Gulland and Jane Dunn.

Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.