fbpx Halfway to the Sky | Bradley, Kimberly Brubaker | Lexile & Reading Lev..
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

Halfway to the Sky

Authors: Bradley, Kimberly Brubaker
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
BISAC/Subject: JUV039130, JUV013060, JUV039030
ISBN: 9780307529718, Related ISBNs: 0307529711, 038572960X, 0385900295, 0440418305, 9780307529718
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 176,
Audience: Children/juvenile
Synopsis: From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes Halfway to the Sky, a compelling novel perfect for fans of Rain Reign.

   Twelve-year-old Dani is running away from home, or what’s left of home anyway. Her older brother, who had muscular dystrophy, died a few months ago. Then her father left and her parents got divorced. Now home is just Dani and her sad, silent mother, and Dani’s got to get away. She plans to do something amazing, and go where her parents will never find her: she’s going to hike the whole Appalachian Trail, from Georgia to Maine. The trail is a legend in her family, the place where her parents met, fell in love, and got married 14 years before.
    Unfortunately for her master plan, her mother doesn’t have much trouble figuring out where Dani’s gone. Now it’s the two of them, hiking for as long as Dani can manage to persuade her mother to keep going. But Dani’s got an even longer emotional journey to make—and it’s one she and her mom need to make together.

"A wise and thoughtful book."-The Bulletin

"[Readers] will readily relate to the angst and anger and be intrigued by the details about the Trail itself."-Kirkus Reviews
Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.