Laugh: A Burnside Novel

Laugh: A Burnside Novel

Authors: Rivers, Mary Ann

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780804178228

Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis: Mary Ann Rivers continues her Burnside family series—perfect for readers of Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Ruthie Knox—as two people try to share their hearts without losing their cool.
 
Dr. Sam Burnside is convinced that volunteering at an urban green-space farm in Lakefield, Ohio, is a waste of time—especially with his new health clinic about to open. He only goes to mollify his partner, suspecting she wants him to lighten up. Then Sam catches sight of Nina Paz, a woman who gives off more heat than a scorcher in July. Her easy smile and flirty, sizzling wit has him forgetting his infamous need for control.
 
Widowed when her husband was killed in Afghanistan, Nina has learned that life exists to take chances. As the daughter of migrant workers turned organic farmers, she’s built an exciting and successful business by valuing new opportunities and working hard to take care of her own. But when Sam pushes for a relationship that goes beyond their hotter-than-fire escapades, Nina ignores her own hard-won wisdom. She isn’t ready for a man who needs saving—even if her heart compels her to take the greatest risk of all: love.

Praise for Laugh
 
“Amazing . . . one hell of a journey for a single book.”—Never Too Fond of Books
 
“The humor, emphasis on community, and passionate feeling make [Laugh] a lovely read.”—Dear Author
 
Laugh makes you want to go out and take life by the horns, hug your friends and family tight and, yes . . . laugh.”—For What It’s Worth
 
“If you want to read superb quality writing, be challenged intellectually and emotionally and be stimulated sensually—Mary Ann Rivers is the author to grab! Trust me on this!”—Ripe for Reader
 
“Sam is my new favorite [May Ann Rivers] leading man. And trust me, when you read this you’ll know he’s all man.”—The Book Hammock

“I love the Burnside family dynamic in this series—it’s messy and real.”—Red Hot and Blue Reads
 
“Mary Ann Rivers has the ability to take my breath away and make me laugh in the same paragraph . . . heck, maybe even the same sentence.”—Straight Shootin’ Book Reviews
 
“One of the most achingly real love stories that I’ve ever read.”—Love at First Page
 
“Mary Ann Rivers is an author I trust implicitly. She unfailingly delivers stories with such realism. . . . She delivers the romance that is best experienced in the quiet moments between two people falling in love, or who are already there. It’s gritty and tough and messy. It’s beautiful.”—The Bookish Babe
 
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Believe it or not, test prep season is upon us. With just a few adjustments to your normal LightSail reading block, you can use our platform to help students prepare… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
November was Native American Heritage Month. Did you know that more than five million people of Native American decent currently live in the United States? The U.S. is home to… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
At Rosen-LightSail, we are committed to celebrating diversity everyday. From September 15th – October 15th, we specifically celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month by recognizing the contributions of Hispanic and Latinx… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.