Nightfall, Kujawinski, Peter & Halpern, Jake

Nightfall

Authors: Kujawinski, Peter & Halpern, Jake

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

ISBN: 9780698405561

Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis: The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and  Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.