The China Dogs

The China Dogs

Authors: Masters, Sam

Publisher: Witness Impulse

ISBN: 9780062319357

Classification: Fiction

Synopsis:

Cujo meets The Manchurian Candidate in this propulsive thriller set in Miami, in which a special ops soldier must uncover a deadly threat to national security: a nefarious plot using man’s best friend as a deadly weapon.

In the blistering heat of Miami, fatal dog attacks are running at record levels. Swimmers, walkers, and homeowners have been shockingly savaged to death. The public is starting to panic. It seems the summer sun or some unknown virus is turning man’s best friend into his worst enemy.

Lieutenant “Ghost” Walton shrugs it off as a freak coincidence.

But when the body count rises, and the perimeter of blood and carnage widens across Miami-Dade county, the seasoned special ops detective with a nose for trouble senses there is something darker behind the pattern of violence, and he’s going to find out what it is. While his previous missions have prepared him for all kinds of danger, Ghost doesn’t anticipate falling hard for a beautiful and feisty out-of-towner with a murky past. Nor does he expect to stumble onto a plot that threatens national security . . . and now he must stop it before it’s too late.

Full of gut-wrenching suspense, and twisting surprises, this gruesome thriller is perfect for fans of Randy Wayne White, Kathy Reich, James Grippando, and Joe Hill.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Believe it or not, test prep season is upon us. With just a few adjustments to your normal LightSail reading block, you can use our platform to help students prepare… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
November was Native American Heritage Month. Did you know that more than five million people of Native American decent currently live in the United States? The U.S. is home to… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
At Rosen-LightSail, we are committed to celebrating diversity everyday. From September 15th – October 15th, we specifically celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month by recognizing the contributions of Hispanic and Latinx… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.