fbpx The China Dogs | Masters, Sam | Lexile & Reading Level:
Try LightSail for free for 7-Days and experience the ONLY All-In-One Literacy Platform! Sign up now
Try LightSail for free for 7-Days and experience the ONLY All-In-One Literacy Platform! Sign up now

The China Dogs

Authors: Masters, Sam
Publisher: Witness Impulse
BISAC/Subject: FIC015000, FIC036000, FIC031050
ISBN: 9780062319357, Related ISBNs: 0062319353, 9780062319357, 9780062343130
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 480,
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis:

Cujo meets The Manchurian Candidate in this propulsive thriller set in Miami, in which a special ops soldier must uncover a deadly threat to national security: a nefarious plot using man’s best friend as a deadly weapon.

In the blistering heat of Miami, fatal dog attacks are running at record levels. Swimmers, walkers, and homeowners have been shockingly savaged to death. The public is starting to panic. It seems the summer sun or some unknown virus is turning man’s best friend into his worst enemy.

Lieutenant “Ghost” Walton shrugs it off as a freak coincidence.

But when the body count rises, and the perimeter of blood and carnage widens across Miami-Dade county, the seasoned special ops detective with a nose for trouble senses there is something darker behind the pattern of violence, and he’s going to find out what it is. While his previous missions have prepared him for all kinds of danger, Ghost doesn’t anticipate falling hard for a beautiful and feisty out-of-towner with a murky past. Nor does he expect to stumble onto a plot that threatens national security . . . and now he must stop it before it’s too late.

Full of gut-wrenching suspense, and twisting surprises, this gruesome thriller is perfect for fans of Randy Wayne White, Kathy Reich, James Grippando, and Joe Hill.

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.