fbpx The Comet Seekers: A Novel | Sedgwick, Helen | Lexile & Reading Level:..
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

The Comet Seekers: A Novel

Authors: Sedgwick, Helen
Publisher: HarperAvenue
BISAC/Subject: FIC014000, FIC000000, FIC019000
ISBN: 9781443449571, Related ISBNs: 1443449571, 9781443449557, 9781443449571
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 304,
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis:

A timeless love story and a magical, intoxicating debut for readers of The Miniaturist and The Time Traveler's Wife.

From a remote research base in Antarctica to witch burnings in Bayeux, The Comet Seekers is a romantic, mesmerizing love story about two strangers who find themselves connected by the passing of the great comets overhead and haunted by the ancestors who bind them together.

Roisin and François are strangers—or so they think—when they meet on the frozen ice sheets of Antarctica as Comet Giacobini fractures overhead. Both are compelled to explore the world but to do so both have left family behind. As we loop back through their lives, glimpsing each of them only when a comet is visible in the skies above, we see how their paths cross as they come closer and closer to this moment.

As the story moves back through the centuries to reveal the lives of their ancestors—from an accused witch to a young woman desperately embroidering Halley’s Comet onto the Bayeux Tapestry—it shows how strangers can be connected and ghosts can be real, and how the way we choose to see the world can be as tragic or as beautiful as the comets themselves.

Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.