The Incredible Journey, Burnford, Sheila

The Incredible Journey

Authors: Burnford, Sheila

Genres: Action and Adventure

Topics: Animals

Lexile: 1320

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Grade: 3 - 7

ISBN: 9780307778345

Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis: Fans of Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh will love this timeless classic about two dogs and a cat that embark on a journey to return to their owner and inspired the movie Homeward Bound.

   An inquisitive Labrador retriever, friendly bull terrier, and courageous Siamese cat set out through the Canadian wilderness to find their owner in this truly “incredible” adventure.
    Instinct tells them that the way home lies to the west and together the three house pets face hunger, the natural elements, and wild forest animals as they make their way home to the family they love.
    This beloved classic that inspired the movie Homeward Bound has captured the hearts of generations of readers. The lengths to which these three animals will go for each other and for their owner make for a thrilling and thoroughly unforgettable tale.
 
Captivating! A tale of charm [and] high drama.”—The New York Times
 
A classic.”—The Atlantic

“From the youngest child…to the oldest grown-up, there is something here for everyone.”—The Horn Book
 
"An incredible book! A beautiful story so moving that it stays in the mind constantly. It is a gem to be treasured."—The St. Louis Post-Dispatch

"I have read The Incredible Journey with much enjoyment. Obviously the author has a great knowledge of animals and a great love for them."—Joy Adamson, author of Born Free
 
A clever story and evocative writing will keep animal lovers and adventure fans turning the pages.”—Common Sense Media
 
Pacific Northwest Young Reader’s Choice Award Winner
 
William Allen White Award Winner
 
Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award Winner

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
1 2 3 4 5 6 … 576 Next »"All Labor Has Dignity" | King..."All the Real Indians Died Off..."Dearest Georg": Love, Literat..."I Love Paul Revere, Whether H..."I Love You… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.