fbpx The Other Side of Desire: Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing | Bergner, Daniel | Lexile & Reading Level:
JUST LAUNCHED: LightSail's all-in-one language arts program for learning from home. Save 45% on our annual subscriptions! Learn More
JUST LAUNCHED: LightSail's all-in-one language arts program for learning from home. Save 45% on our annual subscriptions! Learn More
The Other Side of Desire: Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing, Bergner, Daniel

The Other Side of Desire: Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing

Authors: Bergner, Daniel
Publisher: HarperCollins e-books
BISAC/Subject: HEA042000, PSY000000, SOC026000, REL105000
ISBN: 9780061842184, Related ISBNs: 0061842184, 9780060885571, 9780061842184
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 224
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis:

“Riveting….Powerful…as much about desire and what’s normal as it is an exploration of why we are the way we are, whether we like it or not.”

New York Times Book Review

 

Subtitled “Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing,” Daniel Bergner’s The Other Side of Desire is a literary exploration of science and sex that will appeal to readers of Mary Roach and Natalie Angier. A cross between “a top-rated HBO series [with] provocatively graphic sex, humorous dialogue, and moral ambiguity,” (New York Times) and a profound, deeply humanizing study of sexuality, The Other Side of Desire has been called, “a foray into extreme passion, in quest of the human soul” (O, The Oprah Magazine) and its author, Bergner, “a keen storyteller but above all a humane one” (Salon.com).

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.