The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret

Authors: Bond, Gwenda & Rowe, Chistopher & Bond, Gwenda

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Grade: 3 - 7

ISBN: 9780062459992

Classification: Fiction

Synopsis:

The action-packed sequel to The Lost Legacy, which Booklist called “Monstrous fun!”

Living in a hotel full of monsters isn’t always easy, especially when all the adults have fallen under an evil spell! Stephen and his friends have three days to undo a sorcerer’s magic before the spell becomes permanent and their parents are cursed forever. Hotel Transylvania meets Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.

It’s only been a few weeks since Stephen started living in the New Harmonia—a hotel that caters to a supernormal clientele, including bigfeet, vampires, dragons, and talking gargoyles—and he still has a lot to learn. His latest discovery? The lions at the New York Public Library are actually sphinxes, guarding a secret underground collection of magical artifacts.

But just as Stephen makes this discovery, a mysterious warlock named Edmund the Enchanter turns the sphinxes to stone and steals a powerful wand from the library’s collection. With the wand, Edmund could take control of the entire supernormal world. Stephen and his two best friends, Sofia and Ivan, have only three days to thwart Edmund’s evil intentions.

The Sphinx’s Secret is an adventure-filled monstrous romp with a time-travel twist. This inventive and accessible mystery-adventure is full of friendship, humor, and a curious cast of characters perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

Features black-and-white art by Glenn Thomas throughout.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Believe it or not, test prep season is upon us. With just a few adjustments to your normal LightSail reading block, you can use our platform to help students prepare… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
November was Native American Heritage Month. Did you know that more than five million people of Native American decent currently live in the United States? The U.S. is home to… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
At Rosen-LightSail, we are committed to celebrating diversity everyday. From September 15th – October 15th, we specifically celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month by recognizing the contributions of Hispanic and Latinx… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.