fbpx The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret | Rowe, Chri..
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret

Authors: Rowe, Christopher & Bond, Gwenda & Rowe, Chistopher
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
BISAC/Subject: JUV028000, JUV037000, JUV001000, JUV052000
ISBN: 9780062459992, Related ISBNs: 0062459996, 9780062459978, 9780062459992
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 352,
Audience: Children/juvenile
Synopsis:

The action-packed sequel to The Lost Legacy, which Booklist called “Monstrous fun!”

Living in a hotel full of monsters isn’t always easy, especially when all the adults have fallen under an evil spell! Stephen and his friends have three days to undo a sorcerer’s magic before the spell becomes permanent and their parents are cursed forever. Hotel Transylvania meets Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.

It’s only been a few weeks since Stephen started living in the New Harmonia—a hotel that caters to a supernormal clientele, including bigfeet, vampires, dragons, and talking gargoyles—and he still has a lot to learn. His latest discovery? The lions at the New York Public Library are actually sphinxes, guarding a secret underground collection of magical artifacts.

But just as Stephen makes this discovery, a mysterious warlock named Edmund the Enchanter turns the sphinxes to stone and steals a powerful wand from the library’s collection. With the wand, Edmund could take control of the entire supernormal world. Stephen and his two best friends, Sofia and Ivan, have only three days to thwart Edmund’s evil intentions.

The Sphinx’s Secret is an adventure-filled monstrous romp with a time-travel twist. This inventive and accessible mystery-adventure is full of friendship, humor, and a curious cast of characters perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

Features black-and-white art by Glenn Thomas throughout.

Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.