fbpx 13 Under the Wire: A Layla Remington Novel | Reavill, Gil | Lexile & Reading Level:
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up

13 Under the Wire: A Layla Remington Novel

Authors: Reavill, Gil
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
BISAC/Subject: FIC022040, FIC022020, FIC031010
ISBN: 9780553395075, Related ISBNs: 0553395076, 9780553395075
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 267,
Audience: General/trade
Synopsis: International Thriller Writers Award finalist Gil Reavill returns with another riveting crime novel featuring detective Layla Remington—perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Nevada Barr. As 13 Under the Wire unfolds, Layla’s dark and traumatic past threatens to explode into the here and now.
 
Los Angeles is in the grip of a monster riot. After thirty-six straight hours on duty, sheriff’s detective Layla Remington makes an error that could cost her badge. Shell-shocked, she retreats to the LASD’s temporary staging area: a once-grand mansion that Layla knows from what seems like a lifetime ago. . . .
 
It’s ten years earlier. Layla is twenty-two, a probationary cadet at the police academy. A childhood friend has died tragically in Tijuana, and Layla finds herself once again enmeshed in the lavish lives of the über-wealthy Loushane family. The privileged kids she grew up with are taking their places among the upper crust. But as Layla wraps up the late Simon Loushane’s affairs, she stumbles upon a clue to something very sinister that haunts the family.
 
Unable to quell her curiosity, Layla pulls at the threads of greed and tragedy—and unravels a twisted history of evil that stretches from the Gold Coast of Mexico to the Sonora Desert. And now, a decade later, those demons have come back to claim her.

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.