fbpx Nine Days | Hiatt, Fred | Lexile & Reading Level: 830
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Sign up for our literacy platform for free for reading at home

Nine Days

Authors: Hiatt, Fred
Lexile: 830,
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
BISAC/Subject: YAF042000, YAF058120, YAF054000
ISBN: 9780307977274, Related ISBNs: 0307977277, 0375990739, 0385742738, 0385742819, 9780307977274
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 256,
Audience: Young adult
Synopsis: A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes place as two teens, an American teenage boy and his friend, a Chinese girl from his Washington, DC-area high school, must find her father who has been kidnapped—and they only have nine days. Although the characters in the novel are fictionalized, they are based on a real Chinese family who were part of the Chinese Democracy Movement and inspired this story.


"Few mysteries combine cultural diversity, politics and physical danger with a lighthearted friendship. This engaging mix will have great appeal."—Kirkus Reviews

"A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems."—Publishers Weekly

"A rollicking and fast-paced young adult adventure novel."—South China Morning Post

"Hiatt...offers middle-school-aged readers an appealing mix of action and friendship, with lessons about world events and human rights woven throughout."—Washington Post Book World

“A compelling, teen-centric political thriller . . . inspired by actual events.”—BooklistOnline.com

A NCSS/CBC Notable Children's Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies
Sign up for our literacy platform for reading at home

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.