When They Fade, Roberts, Jeyn

When They Fade

Authors: Roberts, Jeyn
Lexile: 620
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
BISAC/Subject: YAF052000, YAF026000, YAF058020
ISBN: 9780385754156, Related ISBNs: 0385754132, 0385754140, 0385754159, 9780385754132, 9780385754149
Classification: Non-Fiction
Number of pages: 352
Audience: Young adult
Synopsis: In the tradition of The Lovely Bones and Neal Shusterman’s Everlost comes a haunting tale of two girls—one dead, one alive—and high school bullying that’s about to turn deadly.

Now a 2016 Bram Stoker Awards Finalist!

 
When Tatum has a falling-out with a popular girl at school, she isn’t prepared for the vicious backlash that follows. One foggy night, Tatum sneaks out for a drive. The teenage hitchhiker she picks up doesn’t talk much, until she suddenly turns to Tatum and says: “You’re going to die. It will hurt and you’ll be alone. And no one will help you.”
 
And then she disappears. Is the girl a ghost? Or is this just another sick game the bullies at school are playing? As the two girls’ stories converge, they will discover that the only way to help themselves is to first save each other.
 
★ “A satisfying read that tackles heavy issues and is never weighed down by them.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

LightSail includes up to 6,000 high interest, Lexile aligned book titles with every student subscription. Other titles are available for individual purchase.

Watch the power of

Lightsail in action

×

SUPPORT GROWING READERS

Immediately Engage Students
Immediately Engage Students
Simple intuitive design has classrooms reading within minutes.
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Exponentially Grow Reading Time
Students love the LightSail experience and naturally spend more time reading.
Accelerate Literacy Development
Accelerate Literacy Development
Students reading 25 minutes a day on LightSail are seeing 2+ years of Lexile growth in a single year.

LightSail Education is a comprehensive Lexile and standards-aligned, literacy platform and digital e-book library. Including multimodal learning functionality and featuring books from leading publishers, LightSail holistically assesses and nurtures each student on their reading and writing-to-learn journey, throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

LightSail Blog
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Quick & Easy LightSail Tips to Help Prepare Students for Spring Testing
Believe it or not, test prep season is upon us. With just a few adjustments to your normal LightSail reading block, you can use our platform to help students prepare… Read more
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
From Powwows to Potlatches: Creating a Native American Themed Unit in Rosen-LightSail
November was Native American Heritage Month. Did you know that more than five million people of Native American decent currently live in the United States? The U.S. is home to… Read more
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage & Culture
At Rosen-LightSail, we are committed to celebrating diversity everyday. From September 15th – October 15th, we specifically celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month by recognizing the contributions of Hispanic and Latinx… Read more

*LightSail offers a 2,000 or a 6,000 title bundle with its student subscriptions. Other titles are available for individual purchase.