logo
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Angel Mage, Nix, Garth

Angel Mage

Author: Nix, Garth
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN: 9780062683243, Related ISBNs: 0062683241, 9780062683236, 9780062683243
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

A new fantasy masterpiece from Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Old Kingdom series.

More than a century has passed since Liliath crept into the empty sarcophagus of Saint Marguerite, fleeing the Fall of Ystara. But she emerges from her magical sleep still beautiful, looking no more than nineteen, and once again renews her single-minded quest to be united with her lover, Palleniel, the archangel of Ystara.

It's a seemingly impossible quest, but Liliath is one of the greatest practitioners of angelic magic to have ever lived, summoning angels and forcing them to do her bidding. Four young people hold her interest: Simeon, a studious doctor-in-training; Henri, a dedicated fortune hunter; Agnez, a glory-seeking musketeer; and Dorotea, icon-maker and scholar of angelic magic.

The four feel a strange kinship from the moment they meet but do not suspect their importance. And none of them know just how Liliath plans to use them, as mere pawns in her plan, no matter the cost to everyone else . . .

Fans of Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, and Leigh Bardugo will fall in love with Angel Mage, a feminist fantasy that takes place in an alternate European world ruled by fearsome magic and deadly passions.

* PW Best Books 2019 * Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year (2020) *

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically validated metric for matching children with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

WHY PARENTS LOVE

Jenae, Mom of 1

“My daughter is dyslexic and we struggle to do any reading. With Power Texts and Word-by-Word Audiobooks, she can follow along with the words visually while hearing it read aloud. Total gamechanger!“

- Jenae, Mom of 1

Madeline, mom of 5

“It manages everything! My complete Language Arts curriculum is here, taking the pressure off of me to plan the details.“

- Madeline, mom of 5

Ross, dad of 3

“The ChildSafe Content Controls give me peace of mind. No other website allows parents to guide what their child sees and reads like LightSail!“

- Ross, dad of 3

WHY KIDS LOVE

Ross, dad of 3

Become an Author helps me write my own books and share them with my family!

I can use videos and pictures and research on LightSail. It’s so cool!“

- Mateo, 9 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“I love space, and, on LightSail, I can read about astronauts, watch videos on space vehicles, write a letter to NASA, and even Livestream astronauts repairing a ship!“

- Maisie, 12 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“Earning badges is the best! I’m working on a Reading Badge now, and I like to see what my brother earns, too!“

- Aya, 6 years old

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

Is My Child Reading on Grade Level? How to Find Out

Posted on 27.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Strong reading skills play an enormous role in academic success. Kids who struggle with grade level reading lists may fall behind their peers in school. The Lexile framework provides a means to assess your child’s reading abilities and work toward continued literacy growth. Understanding the Lexile Framework Even though you may not be a reading […]

Continue reading »

Making the Most of Blended Learning

Posted on 27.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Blended learning has been an up-and-coming term in educational circles for years, but it’s suddenly taken center stage. As educators have grappled with the challenges of teaching during a pandemic, education in both the classroom and at home has become the norm for many families. Ideally, both would work seamlessly together, balancing harmoniously for the […]

Continue reading »

Three Components to Seek in Writing Apps for Your Kids

Posted on 18.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

The National Council of Teachers of English asserts, “Research has shown that when students receive writing instruction, their reading fluency and comprehension improve.”[1] Parents who foster both writing and reading skills at home can give their children a firm foundation for educational success. In our tech-savvy world, kids are accustomed to using technology for fun, […]

Continue reading »

Contact us