Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Improve your child's reading level in 3 months or less. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Improve your child's reading level in 3 months or less.Sign-up
logo
menu
blog facebook instagram

Home » Error 404: Page not found

As Needed for Pain: A Memoir of Addiction, Peres, Dan

As Needed for Pain: A Memoir of Addiction

Author: Peres, Dan
Publisher: Harper
ISBN: 9780062693488, Related ISBNs: 0062693484, 9780062693464, 9780062693488
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

In the vein of Mary Karr’s Lit, Augusten Burroughs’ Dry and Sarah Hepola’s Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting—and often wryly funny—addiction memoir from one of New York media’s most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction and the drastic impact it had on his life and career.

Dan Peres wasn’t born to be a media insider. As an awkward, magic-obsessed adolescent, nothing was further from his reality than the catwalks of Paris or the hallways of glossy magazine publishers. A gifted writer and shrewd cultural observer, Peres eventually took the leap—even when it meant he had to fake a sense of belonging in a new world of famed fashion designers, celebrities, and some of media’s biggest names. But he had a secret: opiates.

Peres’s career as an editor at W magazine and Details is well known, but little is known about his private life as a high-functioning drug addict. In As Needed for Pain, Peres lays bare for the first time the extent of his drug use—at one point a 60-pill-a-day habit.

By turns humorous and gripping, Peres’s story is a cautionary coming-of-age tale filled with unforgettable characters and breathtaking brushes with disaster. But the heart of the book is his journey from outsider to insecure insider, what it took to get him there, and how he found his way back from a killing addiction.

As Needed for Pain offers a rare glimpse into New York media’s past—a time when print magazines mattered—and a rarefied world of wealth, power, and influence. It is also a brilliant, shocking dissection of a life teetering on the edge of destruction, and what it took to pull back from the brink.

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically validated metric for matching children with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

WHY PARENTS LOVE

Jenae, Mom of 1

“My daughter is dyslexic and we struggle to do any reading. With Power Texts and Word-by-Word Audiobooks, she can follow along with the words visually while hearing it read aloud. Total gamechanger!“

- Jenae, Mom of 1

Madeline, mom of 5

“It manages everything! My complete Language Arts curriculum is here, taking the pressure off of me to plan the details.“

- Madeline, mom of 5

Ross, dad of 3

“The ChildSafe Content Controls give me peace of mind. No other website allows parents to guide what their child sees and reads like LightSail!“

- Ross, dad of 3

WHY KIDS LOVE

Ross, dad of 3

Become an Author helps me write my own books and share them with my family!

I can use videos and pictures and research on LightSail. It’s so cool!“

- Mateo, 9 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“I love space, and, on LightSail, I can read about astronauts, watch videos on space vehicles, write a letter to NASA, and even Livestream astronauts repairing a ship!“

- Maisie, 12 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“Earning badges is the best! I’m working on a Reading Badge now, and I like to see what my brother earns, too!“

- Aya, 6 years old

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

Three Components to Seek in Writing Apps for Your Kids

Posted on 18.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

The National Council of Teachers of English asserts, “Research has shown that when students receive writing instruction, their reading fluency and comprehension improve.”[1] Parents who foster both writing and reading skills at home can give their children a firm foundation for educational success. In our tech-savvy world, kids are accustomed to using technology for fun, […]

Continue reading »

Three Ideas for Fun Family Reading Time

Posted on 18.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Reading opens up the world to our children by creating the foundation for further education. Reading also provides a means for diving into topics of interest, escaping to fantasy worlds, or exploring times and places children wouldn’t otherwise experience. If your child is a reluctant reader, you may be looking for ways to demonstrate that […]

Continue reading »

Top 5 Ways to Get Your Kids Excited to Read

Posted on 15.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

“But reading is boring!” If your kiddos have ever uttered those words, you’ve been in the same place most parents have.  The battle may seem endless at times, seeming like there’s no way to motivate good reading habits outside of school.  But, perhaps it’s simply time to restrategize!  Here are a few tips to get […]

Continue reading »

Contact us