Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Improve your child's reading level in 3 months or less. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Improve your child's reading level in 3 months or less.Sign-up
logo
menu
blog facebook instagram

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Cats vs. Robots #1: This Is War, Stohl, Margaret & Peterson, Lewis

Cats vs. Robots #1: This Is War

Author: Stohl, Margaret, Peterson, Lewis
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN: 9780062665720, Related ISBNs: 0062665723, 9780062665713, 9780062665720
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

#1 New York Times bestselling author Margaret Stohl and Lewis Peterson’s hilarious middle grade debut has it all: robot overlords, secret feline agents, and earthling humans who are in for a real catastrophe.

With examples of why coding is fun and other STEM applications cleverly woven into this fun and thoughtful story about looking beyond binary terms, this is the perfect novel for fans of House of Robots and The Tapper Twins. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

The Robot Federation and the Feline Empire have been at war for eons. And now that fight is coming to a tiny primitive planetoid…Earth. The mission for both cats and robots: retrieve the Singularity Chip. With it, cats can live past their nine lives, and robots are granted eternal battery life.

Meanwhile, twin siblings Max and Min Wengrod are as different as can be. Min always gets good grades, and she loves to read and build robots. Max hates school, and prefers to play games and spend time online with friends.

When Max rescues two kittens and is determined to keep them, Min is horrified that these furballs could ruin her chances at the Battle of the Bots competition. But with hidden forces at play in their own house, and the larger war between cats and robots  fast approaching, will the twins be able to put aside their differences before they get caught in the crossfire?  

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically validated metric for matching children with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

WHY PARENTS LOVE

Jenae, Mom of 1

“My daughter is dyslexic and we struggle to do any reading. With Power Texts and Word-by-Word Audiobooks, she can follow along with the words visually while hearing it read aloud. Total gamechanger!“

- Jenae, Mom of 1

Madeline, mom of 5

“It manages everything! My complete Language Arts curriculum is here, taking the pressure off of me to plan the details.“

- Madeline, mom of 5

Ross, dad of 3

“The ChildSafe Content Controls give me peace of mind. No other website allows parents to guide what their child sees and reads like LightSail!“

- Ross, dad of 3

WHY KIDS LOVE

Ross, dad of 3

Become an Author helps me write my own books and share them with my family!

I can use videos and pictures and research on LightSail. It’s so cool!“

- Mateo, 9 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“I love space, and, on LightSail, I can read about astronauts, watch videos on space vehicles, write a letter to NASA, and even Livestream astronauts repairing a ship!“

- Maisie, 12 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“Earning badges is the best! I’m working on a Reading Badge now, and I like to see what my brother earns, too!“

- Aya, 6 years old

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

Three Components to Seek in Writing Apps for Your Kids

Posted on 18.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

The National Council of Teachers of English asserts, “Research has shown that when students receive writing instruction, their reading fluency and comprehension improve.”[1] Parents who foster both writing and reading skills at home can give their children a firm foundation for educational success. In our tech-savvy world, kids are accustomed to using technology for fun, […]

Continue reading »

Three Ideas for Fun Family Reading Time

Posted on 18.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Reading opens up the world to our children by creating the foundation for further education. Reading also provides a means for diving into topics of interest, escaping to fantasy worlds, or exploring times and places children wouldn’t otherwise experience. If your child is a reluctant reader, you may be looking for ways to demonstrate that […]

Continue reading »

Top 5 Ways to Get Your Kids Excited to Read

Posted on 15.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

“But reading is boring!” If your kiddos have ever uttered those words, you’ve been in the same place most parents have.  The battle may seem endless at times, seeming like there’s no way to motivate good reading habits outside of school.  But, perhaps it’s simply time to restrategize!  Here are a few tips to get […]

Continue reading »

Contact us