logo
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke, Blankman, Anne

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Author: Blankman, Anne
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 9780062278869, Related ISBNs: 006227886X, 9780062278845, 9780062278869
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives in England, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.

But then Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down. When she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she'd escaped—and return to her homeland.

Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel's name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time—or will Hitler discover them first?

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically-validated metric for matching children
with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

Improving Your Child’s Literacy Skills with Focused Reading

Posted on 3.Nov.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Your goal is to raise great readers, but in a world filled with television and video games, that can feel like a challenge. If you’re motivated to make literacy a daily habit, focused reading is here to help. Focused Reading for Younger Kids The basic idea behind focused reading is that kids read. Parents and […]

Continue reading »

5 Ways to Help Your Struggling Reader

Posted on 3.Nov.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Reading doesn’t come easily to every kid. It can be hard as a parent to watch your child struggle. Sometimes, it may seem that there’s nothing you can do to help. To banish that feeling of despair, check out these five reading assistance tools. With them, you can help your child flourish. #1 –  Irresistible […]

Continue reading »

Let LightSail Track Reading For You!

Posted on 3.Nov.21 in Reading at Home Tips

You know it’s coming. Somewhere, wadded up at the bottom of your child’s backpack, or lost among the plethora of emails, is the Reading Tracker from your child’s teacher.  Somehow, among the myriad things to keep count of, you are to track every book and every minute your child reads. Every day.  And then return […]

Continue reading »

Contact us