logo
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Dan Unmasked, Negron, Chris

Dan Unmasked

Author: Negron, Chris
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062943064, Related ISBNs: 0062943065, 9780062943057, 9780062943064, 9780062943071
Classification: Fiction

Synopsis

This heartfelt middle grade debut about grief, creativity, and the healing power of friendship shows that not all heroes wear capes and is perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Ali Benjamin.

Whether they’re on the baseball field or in Nate’s basement devouring the newest issue of their favorite comic book, Dan and Nate are always talking. Until they’re not.

After an accident at baseball practice, Nate’s fallen into a coma. And if Dan ever wants to talk to Nate again, he’s got to take a page out of his hero Captain Nexus’s book, and do whatever it takes to save the day.

But heroes have powers—and without Nate, all Dan has is a closet stuffed with comics and a best-friend-shaped hole in his heart. There’s no way a regular kid can save the day all on his own. Right?

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically validated metric for matching children with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

WHY PARENTS LOVE

Jenae, Mom of 1

“My daughter is dyslexic and we struggle to do any reading. With Power Texts and Word-by-Word Audiobooks, she can follow along with the words visually while hearing it read aloud. Total gamechanger!“

- Jenae, Mom of 1

Madeline, mom of 5

“It manages everything! My complete Language Arts curriculum is here, taking the pressure off of me to plan the details.“

- Madeline, mom of 5

Ross, dad of 3

“The ChildSafe Content Controls give me peace of mind. No other website allows parents to guide what their child sees and reads like LightSail!“

- Ross, dad of 3

WHY KIDS LOVE

Ross, dad of 3

Become an Author helps me write my own books and share them with my family!

I can use videos and pictures and research on LightSail. It’s so cool!“

- Mateo, 9 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“I love space, and, on LightSail, I can read about astronauts, watch videos on space vehicles, write a letter to NASA, and even Livestream astronauts repairing a ship!“

- Maisie, 12 years old

Ross, dad of 3

“Earning badges is the best! I’m working on a Reading Badge now, and I like to see what my brother earns, too!“

- Aya, 6 years old

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

Is My Child Reading on Grade Level? How to Find Out

Posted on 27.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Strong reading skills play an enormous role in academic success. Kids who struggle with grade level reading lists may fall behind their peers in school. The Lexile framework provides a means to assess your child’s reading abilities and work toward continued literacy growth. Understanding the Lexile Framework Even though you may not be a reading […]

Continue reading »

Making the Most of Blended Learning

Posted on 27.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

Blended learning has been an up-and-coming term in educational circles for years, but it’s suddenly taken center stage. As educators have grappled with the challenges of teaching during a pandemic, education in both the classroom and at home has become the norm for many families. Ideally, both would work seamlessly together, balancing harmoniously for the […]

Continue reading »

Three Components to Seek in Writing Apps for Your Kids

Posted on 18.Oct.21 in Reading at Home Tips

The National Council of Teachers of English asserts, “Research has shown that when students receive writing instruction, their reading fluency and comprehension improve.”[1] Parents who foster both writing and reading skills at home can give their children a firm foundation for educational success. In our tech-savvy world, kids are accustomed to using technology for fun, […]

Continue reading »

Contact us