logo
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Finding Esme, Crowley, Suzanne

Finding Esme

Author: Crowley, Suzanne
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
ISBN: 9780062352484, Related ISBNs: 0062352482, 9780062352460, 9780062352484
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on her family’s peach farm in Texas.

Fans of Wendy Maas and Lynda Mullaly Hunt will love this perfectly pitched story about friendship, family, and loss from Suzanne Crowley, the acclaimed author of The Very Ordered Existence of Merilee Marvelous.

After her grandfather died from a heart attack while driving his tractor on Solace Hill, twelve-year-old Esme's been inextricably drawn to that spot, although her grandmother warns her to stay away. But when she follows her little brother, Bo, and her dog, Old Jack, up the hill while chasing fireflies, she makes an incredible discovery—dinosaur bones peeking out from underneath the abandoned tractor.

The bones must be a message from her grandfather, a connection from beyond the grave. But when word gets out that the farm is hiding something valuable, reporters, researchers, and neighbors arrive in droves. Esme struggles to understand who has her best interests at heart, especially as the memory of her grandfather begins to slip away.

Full of friendship and adventure, and featuring a palpable Texas setting, Finding Esme is a moving and heartfelt story about family, friendship, and learning to deal with loss.

From acclaimed author Suzanne Crowley, this engaging adventure set on a Texas peach farm is just right for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ann M. Martin.

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically-validated metric for matching children
with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

4 Ways to Make the Most of LightSail’s Unit Studies

Posted on 8.Dec.21 in Reading at Home Tips

LightSail’s libraries are packed with books and other resources. In fact, there may be times when you’re not sure which items to look at first.  On those days, make your way to the Unit Studies area of the platform. There, you’ll find carefully curated collections of LightSail resources that have been put together by experienced […]

Continue reading »

Hands-on Learning at Home

Posted on 7.Dec.21 in Reading at Home Tips

You’re a busy parent, and your kids are always on the go. Some days, it may seem like there’s barely time for their regular homework before they’re rushing off to the evening’s activities. When they need extra help grasping a concept, you may be searching for quick and easy ways to reinforce their lessons. These […]

Continue reading »

Books to Hook Sports Fans

Posted on 7.Dec.21 in Book Recommendations

Would your kids rather play ball than do their after-school reading? Captivating sports stories may be just the thing to grab their interest! Tales about favorite games and famous athletes could turn your reluctant readers into bookworms who never miss their daily reading goals. 1. Sporty Stories Even young readers enjoy games! Early elementary students […]

Continue reading »

Contact us