logo
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Henry & Eva and the Castle on the Cliff, Portes, Andrea

Henry & Eva and the Castle on the Cliff

Author: Portes, Andrea
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062560056, Related ISBNs: 0062560050, 9780062560032, 9780062560056
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

The Graveyard Book meets The Goonies in this smart, spunky middle grade mystery from acclaimed author Andrea Portes!

Prominent Environmentalist and Oceanographer Die in Boating Accident

This is the headline that changes Henry and Eva’s lives. Their parents, environmentalist William Billings and his oceanographer wife Margo, disappear mysteriously at sea.

But for Henry and Eva, things are about to go from bad to worse. Their jerk-face uncle (nicknamed Claude the Clod) and his awful girlfriend (Terri the Terrible) have moved into their big house on the cliff to “take care of them,” but Eva has her doubts about their intentions.

And when some spooky visitors appear with a message, they realize that their parents’ deaths might not have been as cut and dry as everyone thinks.

It’s up to Henry and Eva to discover the truth—but can they do it before the Clod catches them?

Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, readers of this arch, spooky, timeless tale will find themselves enraptured with this fresh new middle grade series.

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically-validated metric for matching children
with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

4 Ways to Make the Most of LightSail’s Unit Studies

Posted on 8.Dec.21 in Reading at Home Tips

LightSail’s libraries are packed with books and other resources. In fact, there may be times when you’re not sure which items to look at first.  On those days, make your way to the Unit Studies area of the platform. There, you’ll find carefully curated collections of LightSail resources that have been put together by experienced […]

Continue reading »

Hands-on Learning at Home

Posted on 7.Dec.21 in Reading at Home Tips

You’re a busy parent, and your kids are always on the go. Some days, it may seem like there’s barely time for their regular homework before they’re rushing off to the evening’s activities. When they need extra help grasping a concept, you may be searching for quick and easy ways to reinforce their lessons. These […]

Continue reading »

Books to Hook Sports Fans

Posted on 7.Dec.21 in Book Recommendations

Would your kids rather play ball than do their after-school reading? Captivating sports stories may be just the thing to grab their interest! Tales about favorite games and famous athletes could turn your reluctant readers into bookworms who never miss their daily reading goals. 1. Sporty Stories Even young readers enjoy games! Early elementary students […]

Continue reading »

Contact us