logo
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Just Like Jackie, Stoddard, Lindsey

Just Like Jackie

Author: Stoddard, Lindsey
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062652935, Related ISBNs: 0062652931, 9780062652928, 9780062652935
Classification: Non-Fiction

Synopsis

Family is family, no matter what it looks like. Readers will cheer for this pitch-perfect story, just right for fans of such books as The Great Gilly Hopkins and Fish in a Tree

For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, it’s just been her and Grandpa. He taught her about cars, baseball, and everything else worth knowing. But Grandpa’s memory has been getting bad—so bad that he sometimes can’t even remember Robbie’s name.

She’s sure that she’s making things worse by getting in trouble at school, but she can’t resist using her fists when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom.

Now she’s stuck in group guidance—and to make things even worse, Alex Carter is there too. There’s no way Robbie’s going to open up about her life to some therapy group, especially not with Alex in the room. Besides, if she told anyone how forgetful Grandpa’s been getting lately, they’d take her away from him. He’s the only family she has—and it’s up to her to keep them together, no matter what.

Praise for Just Like Jackie:

"I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family."—Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

Just Like Jackie is a lovely story of acceptance—about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences.”—Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign

"A fresh coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read all around."—John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last Day

“As close to perfect as a book for middle grade children can get!”—Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck

? "Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer’s, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family—what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family.”—School Library Journal

“Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.”—Booklist

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically-validated metric for matching children
with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

4 Ways to Make the Most of LightSail’s Unit Studies

Posted on 8.Dec.21 in Reading at Home Tips

LightSail’s libraries are packed with books and other resources. In fact, there may be times when you’re not sure which items to look at first.  On those days, make your way to the Unit Studies area of the platform. There, you’ll find carefully curated collections of LightSail resources that have been put together by experienced […]

Continue reading »

Hands-on Learning at Home

Posted on 7.Dec.21 in Reading at Home Tips

You’re a busy parent, and your kids are always on the go. Some days, it may seem like there’s barely time for their regular homework before they’re rushing off to the evening’s activities. When they need extra help grasping a concept, you may be searching for quick and easy ways to reinforce their lessons. These […]

Continue reading »

Books to Hook Sports Fans

Posted on 7.Dec.21 in Book Recommendations

Would your kids rather play ball than do their after-school reading? Captivating sports stories may be just the thing to grab their interest! Tales about favorite games and famous athletes could turn your reluctant readers into bookworms who never miss their daily reading goals. 1. Sporty Stories Even young readers enjoy games! Early elementary students […]

Continue reading »

Contact us