menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Blackwater, Bunting, Eve

Blackwater

Author: Bunting, Eve
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062044204, Related ISBNs: 0062044206, 9780062044204, 9780064408905
Classification: Fiction

Synopsis

“A novel that will long flicker in readers' memories.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Fans of S. E. Hinton and Jerry Spinelli will devour this thrilling story about a harmless prank that goes too far.

Thirteen-year-old Brodie Lynch was ready for the perfect summer of adventure along the awesome Blackwater River. That was before everything changed forever. One act of mischief leads to a tragic death and even though Brodie was involved, the lies he tells to cover his tracks actually turn him into a hero. Guilt tears at him like the treacherous current of the Blackwater itself, but when mysterious notes are left at his door, his guilt transforms into fear. Someone saw what really happened. Will Brodie decide to tell the truth before the witness turns him in?

Fast paced and suspenseful to the very last page.

Reognized by the Golden Sower Award Masterlist and as a Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers.

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

📖
LightSail is a complete language arts
solution for homeschoolers

LightSail is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically-validated metric for matching children
with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

AN AWARD-WINNING LITERACY SOLUTION

With growing influence…

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

Five Tips for Including Hymn Study in Your Homeschool

Posted on 6.Dec.21 in Faith-based

Music is a unique way to bring a spirit of peace and calm into your homeschool.  Including hymn study in your day can create beautiful bonding moments of faith.  Since most children love music, this is one they will be eager to participate in. There’s nothing quite like watching your child’s eyes light up when […]

Continue reading »

Is a Religiously Inclusive Language Arts Program for You?

Posted on 29.Nov.21 in Faith-based

Secular or religious? When it comes to choosing a homeschool language arts program, this may be one of the questions you ask yourself. One benefit of homeschooling is the ability to tailor the curriculum to the needs of your own family. This includes choosing a language arts program that is religiously inclusive or faith neutral. […]

Continue reading »

5 Books Every 6th Grader Should Read

Posted on 22.Nov.21 in Book Recommendations

It can be a struggle at times to find books for 6th graders. For this student  to thrive, there has to be a balance between high-quality and engaging material. This short list of books is a perfect addition to your 6th grade homeschool curriculum. These books are fun, entertaining, and full of great information. Your […]

Continue reading »

Contact us