Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
Try LightSail for FREE for up to 7 kids! Instant access to thousands of books. Sign-up
menu

Home » Error 404: Page not found

Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Rascally Raccoon, Gardner, PJ

Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Rascally Raccoon

Author: Gardner, PJ
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 9780062946591, Related ISBNs: 0062946595, 9780062946577, 9780062946591
Classification: Fiction

Synopsis

The second book in a young middle grade mystery-adventure series about Horace, an anxious Boston Terrier, and Bunwinkle, an exuberant potbellied pig, who team up to solve crimes in their barnyard and local neighborhood—perfect for fans of Mercy Watson, The Trouble with Chickens, and A Boy Called Bat.

Horace is flying high after solving the pet-tectives' first mystery. But Bunwinkle just hasn’t been herself—she’s scared all the time and is too embarrassed to tell anyone.

Before they can work on getting Bunwinkle’s confidence back, a new case lands in their laps—well, actually their trash cans—when Shoo the raccoon asks for help. The neighborhood humans think he’s behind a series of garbage upheavals and home break-ins—but he swears he’s innocent. Just because people call him a trash bandit doesn’t mean he is one.

To make matters worse, while the pet-tectives are trying to clear Shoo’s name, they learn that Eleanor is having money problems. She hopes to solve them by starting a community Farmer’s Market in the back field. The neighbors seem excited to help at first but then, one by one, they suddenly drop out.

With time running out, can the pet-tectives solve the mysteries and save Shoo and the Homestead?

Expand to learn more

Collapse

Try us for free

Why read a book on LightSail?

📖
LightSail is a complete language arts
solution for homeschoolers

LightSail Is Lexile® Driven

A scientifically-validated metric for matching children
with the perfect books to promote reading progress.

Included in your subscription

*Included in the premium subscription

AN AWARD-WINNING LITERACY SOLUTION

With growing influence…

Common sense

5 STAR RATING FROM EXPERTS AND TEACHERS ALIKE ...FOR TWO YEARS RUNNING!

Common Sense Media’s Graphite site for educators praises LightSail as “a powerful platform for developing engaged readers.” Real-time assessments and feedback were especially noted in awarding LightSail Graphite’s highest honor.

In addition, LightSail is one of the most highly-reviewed literacy products on Graphite by teachers.

Learning rating

Teacher rating


Our blog

Literacy in action

LightSail Unit Studies on the History of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Posted on 6.Oct.21 in Faith-based

Will you be studying the history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in your homeschool this year? Knowing where we come from, learning about the sacrifices of those who came before, and gaining strength from their experiences and testimonies are all excellent reasons why you should. What better way for kids and […]

Continue reading »

Utilizing Homeschool Apps for Reading and Language Arts

Posted on 6.Oct.21 in Homeschool Tips

Reading is the foundational skill for knowledge and learning. Knowing this, many homeschool parents naturally love reading and want to provide their students with a wealth of engaging reading material. While nothing beats the feeling of holding a book, turning the pages, scribbling notes in the margins, and folding the corners of well-loved passages, homeschool […]

Continue reading »

Done-For-You King James Bible Lesson Plans

Posted on 6.Oct.21 in Faith-based

If you’re a busy homeschool mom, you know how difficult it can be to find the time to teach your kids their required school subjects. Add in Bible study and you might be feeling a bit overwhelmed! That’s why finding ready-made King James Bible lesson plans can be such a blessing in your homeschool. Including […]

Continue reading »

Why Powerhouse Homeschoolers Love LightSail

Rockstar homeschoolers with kids of all ages, reading levels, and learning styles love LightSail.
Read our independent reviews.

Contact us