Home » Everything You Need to Know About Homeschooling in New Mexico (NM)

Everything You Need to Know About Homeschooling in New Mexico (NM)

Taking the plunge into homeschooling can feel intimidating. From lesson plans to curriculum choices to compliance with state laws, it can feel like there is a lot to coordinate. However, understanding state homeschool requirements brings families one step closer to enjoying the freedom that homeschooling affords. There is only one option for homeschooling in the state of New Mexico.

homeschooling laws in new mexico

New Mexico Homeschool Mandates

New Mexico compulsory attendance laws require children to be in school from ages 5 through 18. To homeschool in New Mexico, parents must:

  • Possess a high school diploma or GED.
  • Notify the New Mexico Public Education Department within 30 days of beginning a home education program.
  • Submit a notice of intent to homeschool to the New Mexico Public Education Department annually by August 1.
  • Teach the same number of days as the local school district (usually 180 days).
  • Teach the required subjects.
  • Keep student immunization records.

While New Mexico does not require standardized testing for homeschoolers, parents must teach the required subjects, including:

  • Language Arts
  • Reading
  • Math
  • Social Studies
  • Science

 How to Withdraw Your Child from School in New Mexico

If your children currently attend a public or private school, you will need to withdraw them to homeschool. In many cases, sending a withdrawal letter by certified mail to your school district will suffice.

Special Education Provisions

New Mexico has no additional requirements for parents wishing to homeschool their special needs children. Homeschool students are not eligible for special education services.

Record Keeping

New Mexico has no record-keeping requirements for homeschoolers, other than maintaining immunization records. However, it is wise to keep a file for each student containing:

  • Attendance records
  • Information on subjects taught and curriculum used
  • School district correspondence, including forms filed
  • Immunization records
  • Samples of student work
  • Standardized test scores and evaluations

With a clear understanding of New Mexico homeschool laws and the wide availability of resources, homeschooling doesn’t have to feel overwhelming. LightSail’s comprehensive language arts platform provides children with the tools to grow reading, writing, and vocabulary skills. At the same time, LightSail’s built-in assessments and progress-tracking capabilities give parents peace of mind about meeting New Mexico’s homeschool requirements.

Disclaimer: This information is for educational purposes only. It is not legal advice. State laws are constantly changing. Consult an attorney or call your state’s Department of Education for any questions regarding the legalities of homeschooling.

AlabamaHawaiiMassachusettsNew MexicoSouth Dakota
AlaskaIdahoMichiganNew YorkTennessee
ArizonaIllinoisMinnesotaNorth CarolinaTexas
ArkansasIndianaMississippiNorth DakotaUtah
DelawareLouisianaNevadaPennsylvaniaWest Virginia
FloridaMaineNew HampshireRhode IslandWisconsin
GeorgiaMarylandNew JerseySouth CarolinaWyoming
Homeschooling laws – All states

sign up for homeschool literacy program
Contact us